Inyo County Free Library - New Acquisitions

These are books and media new to the library and cataloged by the Inyo County Free Library.

Additional information about each title can be found in the catalog (click on the title). For older acquisition lists choose from Select another list. To request any of these titles please contact your local library branch.

1 to 12 of 12

Book Cover

Morocco

By Lee, Jessica

Publishing Date: 2017

Classification: 900

Call Number: 916.4045 LEE

Lonely Planet Morocco is your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Explore the medina and tanneries in Fez, hop between kasbahs and oases in the Draa Valley, or catch a wave at Taghazout; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Morocco and begin your journey now!

Book Cover

On the plain of snakes: a Mexican journey

By Theroux, Paul

Publishing Date: 2019

Classification: 900

Call Number: 917.204 THE

"Legendary travel writer Paul Theroux fearlessly drives the entire length of the US-Mexico border, then goes deep into the hinterland, on the back roads of Chiapas and Oaxaca, to uncover the rich, layered world behind today's brutal headlines."--Provided by publisher.

Book Cover

West of the West: dreamers, believers, builders, and killers in the Golden State

By Arax, Mark

Publishing Date: c2009

Classification: 900

Call Number: 917.9404 ARA

In the tradition of Joan Didion, Arax combines journalism, essay, and memoir to capture social upheaval as well as the sense of being rooted in a community. This new collection finds a different drama rising out of each confounding landscape: a portrait of one family from Oaxaca, through harrowing border crossings and brutal raisin harvests; right-wing Christians and Jews form a strange pact that tries to silence debate on the War on Terror; Lamont, the inspiration for the town in the Grapes of Wrath, has but one Okie left, who tells Arax his life story as he drives to a funeral to bury one more Dust Bowl migrant; in Humboldt County, the old hippies are battling the new hippies over "pollution pot." Arax pieces together the murder-suicide at the heart of a rotisserie chicken empire, and provides a moving epilogue to the murder of his own father.--From publisher description.

Book Cover

Sea cobra: Admiral Halsey's task force and the great Pacific typhoon

By Melton, Buckner F.

Publishing Date: c2007

Classification: 900

Call Number: 940.5459 MEL

The history of one of the most dramatic and underreported stories of WWII.

Book Cover

Victoria, the queen: an intimate biography of the woman who ruled an empire

By Baird, Julia

Publishing Date: [2016]

Classification: 900

Call Number: 941.08 BAI

A magnificent biography of Queen Victoria by International New York Times columnist Julia Baird. Drawing on previously unpublished papers, 'Victoria: The Queen' is a stunning new portrait of the real woman behind the myth - a story of love and heartbreak, of devotion and grief, of strength and resilience. When Victoria was born, in 1819, the world was a very different place. Revolution would begin to threaten many of Europe's monarchies in the coming decades. In Britain, a generation of royals had indulged their whims at the public's expense, and republican sentiment was growing. The Industrial Revolution was transforming the landscape, and the British Empire was commanding ever larger parts of the globe. Born into a world where woman were often powerless, during a century roiling with change, Victoria went on to rule the most powerful country on earth with a decisive hand. Fifth in line to the throne at the time of her birth, Victoria was an ordinary woman thrust into an extraordinary role. As a girl, she defied her mother's meddling and an adviser's bullying, forging an iron will of her own. As a teenage queen, she eagerly grasped the crown and relished the freedom it brought her. 0At twenty years old, she fell passionately in love with Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, eventually giving birth to nine children. She loved sex and delighted in power. She was outspoken with her ministers, overstepping boundaries and asserting her opinions. After the death of her adored Albert, she began a controversial, intimate relationship with her servant John Brown. She survived eight assassination attempts over the course of her lifetime. And as science, technology, and democracy were dramatically reshaping the world, Victoria was a symbol of steadfastness and security-queen of a quarter of the world's population at the height of the British Empire's reach.

Book Cover

Korea reborn: a grateful nation honors war veterans for 60 years of growth

Publishing Date: [2017]

Classification: 900

Call Number: 951.9042

A retrospective look at the Korean War and the years of prosperity that followed.

Book Cover

Ulysses S. Grant: triumph over adversity, 1822-1865

By Simpson, Brooks D.

Publishing Date: 2000

Classification: 900

Call Number: 973.82 SIM

A biography of the Union general challenges stereotypes of Grant, focusing on his military career and his political evolution.

Book Cover

NEW RELEASE

A very stable genius: Donald J. Trump's testing of America

By Rucker, Philip

Publishing Date: 2020

Classification: 900

Call Number: 973.933 RUC

"This peerless and gripping narrative reveals President Trump at his most unvarnished and exposes how decision making in his administration has been driven by a reflexive logic of self-preservation and self-aggrandizement--but a logic nonetheless. This is the story of how an unparalleled president has scrambled to survive and tested the strength of America's democracy and its common heart as a nation"--Dust jacket.

Book Cover

Roll, Jordan, roll: the world the slaves made

By Genovese, Eugene D

Publishing Date: 1976

Classification: 900

Call Number: 975.004 GEN

An analysis of slavery in America as well as the Afro-American community and American society

Book Cover

Wicked river: the Mississippi when it last ran wild

By Sandlin, Lee

Publishing Date: c2010

Classification: 900

Call Number: 977 SAN

A chronicle of the Mississippi River in the first half of the nineteenth century--before it was tamed by commerce and technology--draws on first-hand accounts to describe life along the river, natural and man-made disasters, acts of piracy, and cultural celebrations.

Book Cover

Cattle kingdom: the hidden history of the cowboy West

By Knowlton, Christopher

Publishing Date: 2017

Classification: 900

Call Number: 978 KNO

"A revolutionary new appraisal of the Old West and the America it made. The open-range cattle era lasted barely a quarter century, but it left America irrevocably changed. These few decades following the Civil War brought America its greatest boom-and-bust cycle until the Depression, the invention of the assembly line, and the dawn of the conservation movement. It inspired legends, such as that icon of rugged individualism, the cowboy. Yet this extraordinary time and its import have remained unexamined for decades. Cattle Kingdom reveals the truth of how the West rose and fell, and how its legacy defines us today. The tale takes us from dust-choked cattle drives to the unlikely splendors of boomtowns like Abilene, Kansas, and Cheyenne, Wyoming. We venture from the Texas Panhandle to the Dakota Badlands to the Chicago stockyards. We meet a diverse array of players--from the expert cowboy Teddy Blue to the failed rancher and future president Teddy Roosevelt. Knowlton shows us how they and others like them could achieve so many outsized feats: killing millions of bison in a decade, building the first opera house on the open range, driving cattle by the thousands, and much more. Cattle Kingdom is a revelatory new view of the Old West."--Jacket.

Book Cover

A Field guide to rock art symbols of the greater Southwest

Publishing Date: [1992]

Classification: 900

Call Number: 979.01

A key to the interpretation of rock art of the American Southwest, providing descriptions and illustrations of rock art symbols, along with their ascribed meanings, and including general and specific information on rock art sites.

1 to 12 of 12