Inyo County Free Library - New Acquisitions

These are books and media new to the library and cataloged by the Inyo County Free Library.

Additional information about each title can be found in the catalog (click on the title). For older acquisition lists choose from Select another list. To request any of these titles please contact your local library branch.

Book Cover

Cookies for Santa: the story of how Santa's favorite cookie saved Christmas

Publishing Date: [2019]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 641.5686

"Every Christmas, millions of children leave cookies out for Santa Claus. What they might not know is that many many years ago, Santa's grandma made cookies for Santa and now every year Santa makes cookies for Mrs. Claus, the elves, and his reindeer. So when we leave cookies for Santa we're honoring his family tradition!"--

Book Cover

Campfire cooking: wild eats for outdoor adventures

By Hoena, B. A

Publishing Date: [2020]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 641.5782 HOE

Provides an introduction to camp cooking, both on a camp stove and over a campfire, including recipes, safety information, and tips and tricks for delicious meals.

Book Cover

Almost American girl: an illustrated memoir

By Ha, Robin

Publishing Date: [2020]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 741.5092 HA

"A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.

Book Cover

Narwhal's otter friend

By Clanton, Ben

Publishing Date: [2019]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 741.5973 CLA

"Narwhal and Jelly... and Otty?! Exuberant Narwhal and skeptical Jelly test the waters of adding a new friend to their pod when they meet Otty the super-adventurous otter in the fourth book of this blockbuster early graphic novel series! Dive into three new stories about the joy of adventure and the power of friendship! In the first story, Otty the otter makes her debut splash; while Narwhal greets her with immediate enthusiasm, Jelly's not so sure about her... mostly because he worries she'll take his place as Narwhal's best friend. Readers will easily see why Narwhal's so excited to meet Otty, a boisterous explorer who even has an aunt who's a real live sea captain! But readers will also relate to Jelly's uneasiness seeing his best friend making a new pal. Jelly tries to work out his jealousy in story two, and in story three, the new trio say "Ahoy, adventure!" and discover they all have more in common than they thought... including a love of waffles! Jelly also takes over the "Super Waffle and Strawberry Sidekick" comic providing a sidekick's-eye-view of defeating the dreaded dEVILed egg!"--

Book Cover

Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt

By Clanton, Ben

Publishing Date: [2017]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 741.5973 CLA

Join Super Narwhal and sidekick Jelly Jolt as they take on three SUPER new stories in this early graphic novel series. Happy-go-lucky Narwhal and no-nonsense Jelly find their inner superheroes in three new under-the-sea adventures. In the first story, Narwhal reveals his superhero alter-ego and enlists Jelly to help him figure out what his superpower is. Next, Narwhal uses his superpower to help a friend find his way back home. In the third story, Jelly is feeling blue and Narwhal comes to the rescue.

Book Cover

The wonky donkey

By Smith, Craig

Publishing Date: [2010]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 782.4208 SMI

Illustrations and lyrical text describe a bird's adventure walking down the road and meeting an odd donkey with three legs and one eye.

Book Cover

Mrs. Moon: lullabies for bedtime

By Beaton, Clare

Publishing Date: 2003

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 782.4215 BEA

Presents an illustrated collection of twenty lullabies, including children's rhymes and bedtime poems, and features audio recordings on CD.

Book Cover

Itzhak: a boy who loved the violin

By Newman, Tracy

Publishing Date: 2020

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 787.2092 NEW

Describes his upbringing by a poor immigrant family in Tel Aviv, the music that inspired his early childhood and the difficult obstacles, including disabling polio, that challenged his musical development.

Book Cover

Hello neighbor: the kind and caring world of Mister Rogers

By Cordell, Matthew

Publishing Date: [2020]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 791.4502 COR

"A biographical look at the life and career of Fred Rogers and the impact of his show, Mister Rogers' Neighborhood"--

Book Cover

Women in basketball

By Buckey, A. W

Publishing Date: 2020

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 796.3230 BUC

Introduces readers to the development of women s basketball, as well as the sport s star players from past to present. Colorful spreads, fascinating sidebars, and athlete biographies make this a thrilling read for young sports fans.

Book Cover

Leave this song behind: teen poetry at its best

Publishing Date: [2016]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 811.0080

This anthology of poems written by teens was selected and assembled from the 27 years of submissions to Teen Ink magazine.

Book Cover

The fierce 44: black Americans who shook up the world

Publishing Date: [2019]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 920.0092

"A dynamic and hip collective biography that presents 44 of America's greatest movers and shakers from Frederick Douglass to Aretha Franklin to Barack Obama, written by ESPN's TheUndefeated.com and illustrated with dazzling portraits by Rob Ball."

Book Cover

Little leaders: bold women in black history

By Harrison, Vashti

Publishing Date: 2017

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 920.7208 HAR

Features female figures of black history, including abolitionist Sojourner Truth, pilot Bessie Coleman, chemist Alice Ball, politician Shirley Chisholm, mathematician Katherine Johnson, poet Maya Angelou, and filmmaker Julie Dash.

Book Cover

The lemon tree: an Arab, a Jew, and the heart of the Middle East

By Tolan, Sandy

Publishing Date: 2020

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 956.9405 TOL

"In 1967, Bashir Khairi, a twenty-five-year-old Palestinian, journeyed to Israel with the goal of seeing the beloved stone house with the lemon tree behind it that he and his family had fled nineteen years earlier. To his surprise, when he found the house he was greeted by Dalia Eshkenazi Landau, a nineteen-year-old Israeli college student, whose family left fled Europe for Israel following the Holocaust. On the stoop of their shared home, Dalia and Bashir began a rare friendship, forged in the aftermath of war and tested over the next half century in ways that neither could imagine on that summer day in 1967. Sandy Tolan brings the Israeli-Palestinian conflict down to its most human level, demonstrating that even amid the bleakest political realities there exist stories of hope and transformation"--

Book Cover

The genius of the Benin Kingdom

By Newland, Sonya

Publishing Date: 2020

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 966.9301 NEW

"Which innovative ideas and inventions began in the Benin Kingdom in Africa? Find out how a collection of separate villages and communities grew into a strong, united kingdom and developed a network of successful trading relationships. Discover how their brilliant developments in town planning, language, art, and medicine still influence the way we live today."--

Book Cover

Powwow: a celebration through song and dance

By Pheasant-Neganigwane, Karen

Publishing Date: 2020

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 970.0049 PHE

"Part of the nonfiction Orca Origins series for middle readers. Illustrated with photographs, Powwow is a guide to the dance, music and culture of this Indigenous celebration."--

Book Cover

The great migration

By Harris, Duchess

Publishing Date: [2020]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 973.0496 HAR

"Between 1916 and 1970, more than 6 million African Americans migrated from the South to the North. They wanted to escape racial violence in the South. This mass movement of people is called the Great Migration. The Great Migration explores the history of the migration and its legacy."--

Book Cover

William Still and his freedom stories: the father of the underground railroad

By Tate, Don

Publishing Date: 2020

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J 973.7115 TAT

"The remarkable, little-known story of William Still, known as the Father of the Underground Railroad from award-winning author-illustrator Don Tate. William Still's parents escaped slavery but had to leave two of their children behind, a tragedy that haunted the family. As a young man, William went to work for the Pennsylvania Anti-Slavery Society, where he raised money, planned rescues, and helped freedom seekers who had traveled north. And then one day, a strangely familiar man came into William's office, searching for information about his long-lost family. Could it be? Motivated by his own family's experience, William began collecting the stories of thousands of other freedom seekers. As a result, he was able to reunite other families and build a remarkable source of information, including encounters with Harriet Tubman, Henry "Box" Brown, and William and Ellen Craft. Don Tate brings to life the incredible true story of William Still's life and work as a record keeper of enslaved people who had fled to freedom. Tate's powerful words and artwork are sure to inspire readers in this first-ever picture book biography of the Father of the Underground Railroad."--

Book Cover

Humans vs. artificial intelligence

By MacCarald, Clara

Publishing Date: [2020]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J006.3 MAC

"Describes artificial intelligence programs designed to play and win games against human champions including AlphaGo, DeepBlue, and Watson. Explores the history of these supercomputers and how they could evolve in the future. Includes "Leading the Way" sections and critical thinking questions"--

Book Cover

The efficient, inventive (often annoying) Melvil Dewey

By O'Neill, Alexis

Publishing Date: [2020]

Classification: JNF

Call Number: J020.92 ONE

Melvil Dewey liked order and efficiency, lists and measurements, which is what led him to create a library classification system and a school for teaching his library science.